What is the Status of the CCSA Lawsuit?

transparency image

The California Charter School Association (“CCSA”) sued OUSD claiming our charter friendly district wasn’t being friendly enough and should be handing over prime school sites to charter schools under prop 39. Since then, the board has voted to impose co-locations with charters on 4 district campuses, extended the leases of three schools and approved a potential 30 year lease term for American Indian High School (a school which the board attempted to close several years back). In addition, the District proposed a potential 40 year lease for KIPP at Lafayette Elementary, forcing those families to relocate the elementary students on the West Oakland Middle School campus, that will presumably come up for vote shortly. All of this without a word of what is happening with the CCSA lawsuit for injunctive relief.

Parents United sent a letter today to the board asking for a public update of the status of that lawsuit (you can read the text below). We encourage all parents and community members to call or email the board members and let them know that you also believe that our board should update the community about what is going on in that lawsuit and shine a light on what, if any, deals the District is making with CCSA (an organization that is a member of the Equity Pledge Executive Committee and which was a major donor to the campaigns of 5 of the 7 board members).

Here is the contact information and read on for the letter.

President James Harris (District 7): james.harris@ousd.org or 879-2167
Vice President Nina Senn (District 4): nina.senn@ousd.org or 879-2164
Director Jody London (District 1): jody.london@ousd.org or 879-2161
Director Aimee Eng (District 2): aimee.eng@ousd.org or 879-2162
Director Jumoke Hinton Hodge (District 3): jumoke.hintonhodge@ousd.org or 879-2163
Director Roseann Torres (District 5): roseann.torres@ousd.org or 879-2165
Director Shanthi Gonzales (District 6): shanthi.gonzales@ousd.org or 879-2166

Dear Directors,

This letter is to request that this Board issue a status report on the legal action filed against Oakland Unified School District by the California Charter School Association (“CCSA”) on March 8, 2016 in Alameda Superior Court in connection with the Proposition 39 offers. Specifically, we request that this Board answer the following questions:

1.      Is the lawsuit for injunctive and other relief still pending? If yes, are hearings scheduled on this matter? Please provide an update on all action taken or planned on this matter.

2.      What, if any, agreements have been entered into by OUSD and CCSA regarding the lawsuit which would extend the time to respond or suspend action on the lawsuit?

3.      What, if any, agreements have been entered into by OUSD and CCSA regarding the Proposition 39 offers underlying the lawsuit, including but not limited to accommodations at various schools, and/or agreements to offer extended lease terms to requesting parties including but not limited to American Indian and KIPP?

4.      What, if any, agreements have been entered into by OUSD and CCSA regarding any other aspect of this lawsuit not specifically mentioned herein?

OUSD families and the community have the right to be informed of these matters, and given the board’s commitment to transparent leadership, we respectfully request that this matter be placed on the agenda of the next available school board meeting for discussion and public comment in order that the public may be informed of the answers to the above questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Parents United for Public Schools Steering Committee Members

Mona Treviño

Ann Swinburn

Michael-David Sasson

Kim Davis

Tony Daquipa

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s